News: QELServ based combat mini-game (Lands Of War) 0.0.2 in testing NOW!

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
+  QELServ Forum
|-+  General Discussion
| |-+  Suggestions
| | |-+  My take on QEL (and fantasy MMORPGs in general)
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: My take on QEL (and fantasy MMORPGs in general)  (Read 6257 times)
Rehdon
Betawulf
New

View Profile
« on: 2009-04-18 04:01 (Sat) »

Hi all,
I just learned about QEL and I think it's a very interesting endeavour. Here are my profuse and proverbial 0,02 cents, I'm not an expert in MMORPGs by any means, just had lots of fun in creating a traditional, paper and pen one some time ago. I also have good background in medieval stuff, but that's another subject entirely Smiley

The starting point

I guess that EL is not only the technical basis, but also the real foundation of QEL wrt to gameplay, so I'll start listing what EL does right and wrong to pick the best of it.

Things that EL does right:

- multiclass
- multiskill
- multipurpose (PvE, PvP, pking, mixing)
- varied and huge world to explore
- production system let newbies start doing something at once, both wrt to learning skills and to earn money (selling basic stuff like bones or fes)
- nice character build system based on attributes and cross-attributes
- nice XP progression and character growth
- nice community built on common interests among chars (mixing, fighting)
- nice fighting events (invasions, instances)

Things that EL does (at least partly) wrong:

- not really multi-racial: misses race-specific attributes and skills that would add depth to the game
- magic system underdeveloped: few spells, very limited (especially ranged spells), confusion with fighting system (so that pr0 fighters are almost automatically pr0 mages)